Harvey (far right) with three-time champion Tom Miller, Jr., two-time champion Buck Luce, and three-time major winner Denny Shute, 1940

Harvey Penick created this tournament, then known as the Labor Day Tournament, in 1935. The tournament was originally conducted at match play, but was changed to a 54-hole stroke play competition in the mid-1950’s. In 1970 the tournament was renamed the Penick Classic in Harvey’s honor. When the club moved to its present Davenport Ranch location, the tournament became a mid-amateur event, with the senior championship added in 1990.

The tournament has long drawn a top amateur field, with an impressive list of participants and past champions. Winners of the tournament have gone on to win 12 PGA Tour titles, including the Masters, and 29 Champions Tour titles. Closer to home, winners of The Penick have won eight Texas State Amateur Championships, five Texas Mid-Amateur Championships, fifteen Texas Senior Championships, over fifty state titles overall, and the USGA State Team Championship for Texas. Participants in The Penick have included winners of the U.S. Amateur, British Amateur, NCAA Championships, and numerous state, regional and national amateur championships; as well as qualifiers for every USGA Championship including the U.S. Open.

Robert McKinney has won the most Harvey Penick Invitational championships, with five wins between 1982 and 1992. Bob Hullender has won the most Senior championships, with three wins from 1998 to 2006. The tournament record is held by four-time champion Ed Brooks, who shot 15-under 201 in 1996. John Grace holds the senior tournament record, shooting 10-under 206 in 2014.

Bob Kearney is the only player to win both the championship (2003, 2004) and senior (2013) divisions. Kenny Cook and John Grace are the latest Harvey Penick Invitational champions.

Tinsley Penick and Dale Morgan, along with Harvey the only Head Professionals in the history of ACC

Because of its history, tradition, and quality of field, the Harvey Penick Invitational has been designated as a points tournament in each major ranking of amateur and senior golfers: the Golfweek/ Amateur Rankings, the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking (SPWAR), the R&A World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR), and the Golfweek Senior Amateur Rankings.

Recent Tournament Results:
2014, won by Kenny Cook and John Grace
2013, won by Brian Noonan and Bob Kearney
2012, won by Ryan Murphy and Jeff New
2011, won by Patrick Christovich/Peter McGibney and Jay Pumphrey/Ron Hackleman

Harvey Penick Invitational Past Champions